Tags

, , , , ,

If you haven’t caught Part I, please do so as it sets the stage for creating affirmations.

NeuronsThere are a lot of resources on the Internet on the subject of affirmations. Some are great, some esoteric, but almost all get the job done. And that job is to change a person’s behavior, thoughts or beliefs through thinking certain thoughts, by using affirmations.

An affirmation is just a phrase that, repeated often enough, can change a person’s behavior, thoughts or beliefs. It can be argued that these three things are essentially one, but I won’t go there for this post. I’ll keep them separate for now, but just put it in the back of your mind that these items all relate to one another.

Affirmations work because they reprogram the subconscious mind. As I talked about in Part I, everything you experience through your senses takes a direct route to your subconscious mind. Repeating affirmations will do the same thing.

And here’s the kicker. They don’t have to be true. They can be outright lies and your subconscious will believe them. That’s the beauty of affirmations. Even if you don’t have a certain quality, you can create an affirmation for that quality—which would be a lie in the beginning. Say it enough, and the next thing you know you’ll be exhibiting that quality.

Okay, so what’s a good affirmation?

Keep it Positive

Affirmations have to be positive to make a lasting change, as in: I feel complete calmness.

As opposed to: I won’t be nervous or anxious anymore.

Basically, a positive affirmation doesn’t use any negative words like not, never, stop, etc.

Other negative statements would be:

  • I want to stop yelling at people; instead, change it to: I am calm with everyone.
  • I don’t want to feel embarrassed anymore; change it to: I am more sure of myself.
  • I will not be mean to others; change to: I am kind to all people.

Make it Personal

Use the “I” in your affirmation; it’s very powerful.

“I smile more often now.”

“I greet everyone with a warm hello.”

“I am happy with everything I encounter.”

You may not do any of those actions right now, which makes them lies, but you will! Just keep at it, and what you’re affirming will be a reality in no time at all.

Keep it Present

The subconscious mind doesn’t know time like we—that is, our conscious minds—do. It can’t distinguish between past or future. It only knows the now.

So when constructing your affirmation, keep it in the present-tense. “I am” states that you are affirming something for the present, right now. “I will be…” states that you will be something at some point in the future. As a result, your subconscious doesn’t know how to process this “future something,” so it basically puts it on the back burner until that time.

And that’s the problem. If the subconscious puts something on hold, it may never come to pass!

So, keep your affirmations in the present form.

Results

Depending on your affirmations and what you’re trying to achieve, you can see results in as early as a couple days. Some may take weeks or months. These longer changes are the result of a deep-seated belief you’re trying to change.

A friend of mine told me I didn’t smile enough. And she was right.

So, I created a simple, one-word affirmation, “smile,” and wrote it out on about twenty stickies and placed them all over the house. Whenever I’d notice a sticky, I’d repeat the word “smile” several times (and, of course, I would smile while saying it). Within a couple weeks, I was smiling all the time and took the stickies down.

I’ve used affirmations for a variety of things, from the simple things I wanted to change to the more complex ones. The results from the simple ones come almost immediately—within days or a couple weeks. Some of the more complex ones…well, I’m still working on a few of those.

Caution

Be very aware of what you say to yourself in the course of your day. Even if it’s joking (another thing the subconscious doesn’t understand).

For example, I used to have the phrase “I always seem to do that” whenever I did something over and over again. Little things, like having to make two trips to the kitchen when I could have done it in one. Or jumping in the shower without replacing the almost non-existent soap.

Then I caught myself saying that phrase and realized what I was doing, what I was telling my subconscious that it was okay to be forgetful.

I was affirming that I will be forgetful on these little things.

And guess what?

I was.

When I stopped saying those words, I started remembering all these little things. Now, I rarely forget stuff.

So, monitor your thoughts. It can be tough at first, but it gets really easy after a week or so.

And the minute you start monitoring your thoughts, something amazing happens: you will notice what other people say.

How many times have you heard people say:

  • I’m such a klutz.
  • Sorry. I can’t seem to do anything right today.
  • She and I never get along well.
  • My boss is an ass. (And he always will be with this affirmation!)
  • I’ll never get that sale. They’re too big for my small company.
  • I’m always late for things…sorry.
  • My son is always getting into trouble.
  • My daughter will never get over {fill in the blank}.
  • I wish I could do that.
  • I never get this stuff right.
  • I hate shopping. It’s always so crowded when I go.
  • I don’t have the proof, but I know he’s cheating on me.
  • We broke up. Seems I only date losers.
  • Why do I always attract the wrong men/women? Or…
  • Why can’t I find someone to love me? What the hell’s wrong with me?

Be very careful what you say. Affirmations don’t always have to be a statement. The above relationship questions are indirect affirmations and can harm you just as much as a positive affirmation.

For the very last one, my subconscious mind probably heard: can’t find someone and there’s something wrong with me.

InnerPeaceJust Imagine

Affirmations are a great tool. You can use them for almost anything, changing how you interact with people, finding love, making more money; the list is endless and only limited by your imagination.

Start with the small ones to ease yourself into this if you’re new to affirmations. Master a couple of those, then go for the gold.

Got a little quirk you’d like to get rid of? Create an affirmation and get rid of it.

If you hate shopping because of the crowds, tell yourself “I’m going to enjoy shopping today,” and see what happens. But don’t just say this once and look for results. Say this phrase every time you go to any size store.

Besides using affirmations, another tool that’s good is keeping a journal. Keeping a journal helps plot your course and progress. It’s feedback for you, so write down the progress you make with affirmations: when you started, when you first noticed a change, when you moved on to another affirmation, etc.

On the computer, I keep a “manifestation log.” This basically records the changes I’ve seen as a result of my affirmations, the changes that I’ve manifested. I put everything in it, even the little things.

So, get creative. Make your affirmations fun. Keep them positive. And in no time, you’ll find a new you looking back from the mirror.

The next installment will focus on when and where to say affirmations for the best—and fastest—results.

Until next time, much peacefulness to you.

More Resources:

Eckhart Tolle has a great book on being present in the moment, Practicing the Power of Now. Very powerful stuff.

Morty Lefkoe has a great program for changing habits and beliefs. There are some videos he offers for free. Look around his website for the freebies. If you’re on Youtube, search for his name and you’ll find plenty of videos to keep yourself busy. Mr. Tolle can be found on Youtube as well.

__

