Tags

, , ,

[A recent post on Eckhart Tolle’s website]

Oops, Here I Am, I’m Back
By Chris

After my cancer diagnosis, what came to me is that mindfulness is about being here now; being still; becoming aware of my Being; not allowing my mind to run me ragged with past and future thoughts, but remaining here in this present moment where everything is just fine and where peace and joy reside. My name is Chris, and this is my story.

Upon his winning of yet another gold medal at the Olympics recently, I heard Michael Phelps say, “This is the best day of my life.” It took my mind only a fraction of a second to decide that best day of my life was the day I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Looking back on that day it is hard to believe I am saying this now, but it’s true. Friday, December 7, 2007 (The day I now refer to as My Own Personal Pearl Harbor), I received the dreaded call from my doctor:

“Hi Chris, we got the results of your breast biopsy; it looks like that lump is cancer.

“F_____.”

Read the entire story on Eckhart Tolle’s website.

__

