Tags

, , , , ,

I covered the background to Affirmations in Part I, and the structure of them in Part II. If you haven’t already, I urge you to read those posts first.

The short of the When and Where affirmations can be done is this: anytime and anywhere. So long as they can be safely done, that is. I’m especially referring to driving while you’re mind is on affirmations. Be careful.

Now the Details

Where and When really blend together, so to choose where you do your affirmations is usually to define when to do them.

The Where is really easy. You can do your affirmations anywhere. Though being alone affords you the opportunity to say them out loud, which can be a great benefit (hearing your own voice adds power to them), you can just go over them in your head with the same results. And the results you’re shooting for will surely come so long as you’re sticking to the right formats for them and the affirmations are good (as opposed to seeking harm for anything or anybody).

I have a set of affirmations that I continue to use regardless what’s going on in my external world. These are aimed at my general character and being. They basically call for calm, peace, kindness, compassion and the like.

I have others that change almost daily as my needs change. These are more centered around tasks I want to do, traits I want to strengthen or extinguish, and short- and long-term goals I have set.

No matter which ones I’m focusing on, and no matter where I am, I’ll rattle off several of them.

I’ve found myself reciting my affirmations while visiting friends. If there’s a prolonged lull in the conversations, I’ll quickly recite a few.

When I’m driving, I’m constantly going through affirmations. Always. Of course, these are short ones that don’t interfere with my driving. And usually I’ll throw in a couple that refer to other drivers, like “we’re all conscious of our safe driving.”

If I’m doing dishes, I’ll be going through my affirmations. This is probably one of many chores around the house that doesn’t require a lot of concentration and is perfect for reciting affirmations.

Other times I take the opportunity to recite affirmations are when I’m showering, shaving, vacuuming, doing yard work, walking, exercising (another excellent time), etc..

Of course, I’m cognizant of being present whatever I seem to be doing at the moment, but I also find it perfect for going through some affirmations.

With only one exception, there are no specific times that are better than others for going through your affirmations. That exception is just before falling asleep.

Affirmations are basically your conversations from your conscious mind to your subconscious mind. The task is basically a reprogramming of your subconscious. There’s no better time to “remind” your subconscious as to what you want it to focus on than just before your conscious mind falls off to sleep.

Book upon book recommends that, just before sleep, you consciously think of what you want your subconscious to focus on for the next eight or so hours.

The mistake a lot of people make, and I was no different, is to focus on what needs to be done the next day, what bills are coming due, the problems involving other people—family, friends and foe, and all the other things we tend to constantly rehash over and over and over again.

I mean, how many times do we need to think about paying the rent or mortgage…when it’s not due for another ten days? How many times do we have to replay the scene of Uncle Ned belittling his wife in front of everyone at the family reunion? Or that Silvia is having marriage problems?

Henry Thomas Hamblin, in ‎Within You is the Power (see Further Reading below), wrote that our subconscious mind is either our best friend or our worst enemy.

Thinking of all the negative or superfluous things just before falling asleep is a waste of our subconscious minds. Get your subconscious to focus on what you want by running through your affirmations that will bring about change, good change, in your life. Do this just before going to sleep, and you’ll find it really does work like a charm.

We all dream, but it seems I seldom remember mine.

When I do want a glimpse of what my dreams are, I tell my subconscious, just before nodding off, to “make my conscious aware of my dreams tonight.”

Without fail, I wake up remembering a few of my dreams.

So, the best time to plant your affirmations is right before sleep. You can recite them throughout the day, but reciting them just before falling asleep is the absolute best time to do them.

If you seldom remember your dreams, use my method as a test to see how powerful your subconscious is. Don’t tell yourself you “want to dream,” because you always dream; your subconscious will be like, “duh, of course you’re going to dream.” Use my exact words and you’ll be made aware of them as you dream and upon waking up.

Now, if you can do this little thing with dreams, what other things can your subconscious mind do during sleep?

In the last part on affirmations, I want to cover the inadvertent affirmations that come to us or that we feed ourselves during the day. You’ll be surprised at the sources.

Until next time, much peacefulness to you. Oh, and sleep well.

Further Reading:

H.T. Hamlin, Within You is the Power: Project Gutenberg (free); Barnes & Noble ($1.99)

Christian Larson, Your Forces and How to Use Them: Archive.Org (free); Barnes & Noble ($0.99)

Prentice Mulford, Your Forces and How to Use Them (Yup. Same title as C. Larson’s): Archive.Org (free); it’s free at Barnes & Noble and is probably the same version. This is a six-volume, complete book. Volume One has a couple chapters on sleep, dreams and your subconscious mind. A really interesting read. Look around Archive.Org if you just want Volume One.

See my Note on E-Books, especially if you’re going to purchase them.

__

